Jessica Gross

Creepy Subway Singing

In musings, people watching on October 31, 2008 at 11:43 am

Three times this week, the person sitting next to me on the subway has started singing. I don’t mean singing along with music. I don’t mean singing for money. I mean singing a soft, creepy tune, as if to themselves, except not.

This isn’t okay. When I’m on the subway, reading my book, and a stranger launches into one of these ditties, I feel (a) distracted, (b) irritated, and then (c) afraid. I repeatedly jump to the conclusion that the person is haunted. Logical?

  1. I sing quietly to myself sometimes! But only when there’s no one sitting next to me. Sometimes you just gotta do what your heart tells you.

  2. […] 10, 2008 · No Comments Confession: the day after I lambasted creepy subway singing, I caught myself singing, and not softly, as I walked on a UES sidewalk. What’s worse? I was […]

Leave a Reply

