Jessica Gross

Self-Conscious New York

In people watching on October 27, 2008 at 1:18 pm

On the subway, I peered down at a lucky, seated girl (my face was pressed against the wall). She had on a giant ring. I examined the giant ring. I admired it.

She noticed me staring at her hands and looked at them. Suddenly she was picking at the chipped polish on her fingernails. She looked distressed.

She saw me staring, figured I must be judging something, and took it as a cue to judge herself.

In my brain: “Sweet ring.” In her brain: “My nails look gross! Ugh, embarrassing. I definitely need to repaint those.”

Leave a Reply

